I flew confederate battle flags during my youth in Princeton, NJ.

My mom Ulli Steltzer, who was a staff photographer for the „Princeton Packet“ and was commissioned to document the Memorial Day festivities at the Washington Memorial in 1958, took a picture of her young son on his bicycle displaying an array of US and confederate flags. I had mounted them on the handlebars of my bike to celebrate the occasion. Not only was I unaware of the meaning of this traitorous and racist flag, but nobody around me was either, not even my mom.

Memorial Day 1958 in front of the Washingtom Memorial in Princeton, NJ
As a 9 year old boy parading the Star Spangeld Banner and the confederate battle flag in 1958

I apologize for this ignorance on my part and am intent on making sure that the „Rebel Flag“ be publically removed everywhere.

__________________________

German – Deutsch

Während meiner Jugendzeit in Princeton, NJ, habe ich konföderierte Schlachtflaggen geflogen.

Meine Mutter Ulli Steltzer, die als Mitarbeiterin für das “Princeton Packet” fotografiert hatte und den Auftrag erhielt, die Memorial-Day-Feierlichkeiten am Washington Memorial 1958 in Princeton zu dokumentieren, fotografierte ihren kleinen Sohn auf seinem Fahrrad mit einer Reihe von US- und Konföderationsflaggen. Ich hatte sie zur Feier des Ereignisses am Lenker meines Fahrrads angebracht. Nicht nur, dass ich mir der Bedeutung dieser verräterischen und rassistischen Flagge nicht bewusst war, es war auch keiner um mich herum, nicht einmal meine Mutter.

Ich entschuldige mich für diese Ignoranz meinerseits und bin entschlossen, dafür zu sorgen, dass die “Rebellenflagge” überall öffentlich entfernt wird.

Ich bin traurig und entsetzt, dass viele Princtonians nichts zu mir gesagt haben. Ihre Toleranz machte sie zu Komplizen.

Author: KiteMike

I am a progressive democrat living in Berlin, Germany. Previously an architect I am founder of the first and oldest kite and juggling shop in Berlin - see www.flying-colors.de.

One thought on “I flew confederate battle flags during my youth in Princeton, NJ.”

  1. I think, it is not necessary, to apologize for a behavior from an unexperienced boy, who hasn’t learn so much so far. I asked myself who really suffered because of this.
    I would appreciate more to reflect and apologize for certain behaviors or non behaviors, which hab been made from a grown up, studied and political active person concerning his own world or cosmos. This includes the closest microcosmos of this person.
    I think that there are certain people who really deserve attention and apologizes.
    🤔… This also includes yourself!

Leave a comment