In the footsteps of my Grandfather Oswald Goetz


Sorry I haven’t communicated in the last weeks. I have been in the hospital in France. The chronic wound on my foot has gotten the better of me. My right foot will be amputated on Tuesday. So it will be a long period of rehabilitation and learning how to walk again. I’ll make it. My Grandfather (Moms dad) lost his left lower leg during the first world war when he was 18. He rehabilitated himself, had two kids (my mom and my aunt) and 5 Grandsons (Chris and myself among them). My aunt, who turned 99 on Jan. 14th, just sent me her self-drawn sketch of her father Oswald Goetz, my grandfather shaving in 1925 in Frankfurt, Germany. Drawn by my aunt Renate (now 99) from memory in 2021 on February 8th to cheer me up. Not bad for 99.

Oswald Goetz, my grandfather shaving in 1925 in Frankfurt, Germany. Drawn by my aunt Renate (now 99) from memory in 2021.

___________________________

Deutsch

___________________________

In den Fußstapfen meines Großvaters Oswald Goetz

Entschuldigung, dass ich in den letzten Wochen nicht kommuniziert habe. Ich war im Krankenhaus in Frankreich. Die chronische Wunde an meinem Fuß hat mich wieder eingeholt. Mein rechter Fuß wird am Dienstag amputiert werden. Es wird also eine lange Zeit der Rehabilitation und des Wiedererlernens des Gehens sein. Ich werde es schaffen. Mein Großvater (Moms Vater) verlor seinen linken Unterschenkel während des Ersten Weltkriegs, als er 18 war. Er hat sich selbst rehabilitiert, hatte zwei Kinder (meine Mutter und meine Tante) und 5 Enkel (darunter Chris und mich). Meine Tante, die am 14. Januar 99 Jahre alt wurde, schickte mir gerade ihre selbstgezeichnete Skizze ihres Vaters Oswald Goetz, meines Großvaters, beim Rasieren im Jahr 1925 in Frankfurt, Deutschland. Gezeichnet von meiner Tante Renate (jetzt 99) aus dem Gedächtnis im Jahr 2021 am 8. Februar, um mich aufzumuntern. Nicht schlecht für 99.

Author: KiteMike

I am a progressive democrat living in Berlin, Germany. Previously an architect I am founder of the first and oldest kite and juggling shop in Berlin - see www.flying-colors.de.

3 thoughts on “In the footsteps of my Grandfather Oswald Goetz”

  1. Dear Michael,
    You will be in my thoughts as you work through your recovery and rehabilitation over the next several months. You are a strong person and you will have lots of love coming your way from family and friends near and far. Your grandfather will be an inspiration. Dear sweet Renate for sending the drawing with her love and good wishes. I remember the illustrated letters, calendars and booklets she sent your mom. So talented and so thoughtful. Take good care of yourself and stay in touch. Love and many hugs, Sally

  2. Thoughts of your mom; an amazing women, and thoughts of you and hoping all has healed since this post.
    Your family was so interesting and inspiring
    to me as a teenager and young women. I won’t forget all of you.
    It’s part of my childhood.
    Sara Dailey-Smith

  3. Nice to hear from you Sara! Thank you for your message.
    I am back in Berlin and am recovering from my operation.
    My mom had a celebration of her life three years ago in Vancouver where many friends spoke. Som of their words are captured on this website: celebratingullisteltzer.wordpress.com.
    I hope you are well!!
    Cheers from Berlin
    Michael

Leave a comment