Fast cashier scanning is “for the customer”

My Kroger Plus Shoppers Card

My Kroger Plus Shoppers Card

Tonight I went shopping again at Krogers in Ann Arbor.  A young woman was at the “scan register”.  She also waited until I had put everything on the conveyer belt before she started scanning my groceries.  I asked her about that and told her that I had spoken with a fellow cashier of hers, who had told me that he was being told to adhere to the norm of 23 scans per minute.   (see yesterdays post)

She admitted this norm and said with a smirk in her eye that it was in the interest of customer when quick scanning was done …  She gave me a friendly smile and told me that she will get her Scan-Per-Minute-Average at the end of the shift. I smiled back and told her that her smile was more important than her scanning speed.  We understood each other ….

Leave a Reply

